Norman Mackie

& Associates Ltd

Training & Consultancy Organisation

Norman Mackie & Associates Limited,

The Peacock, Ambleside, Stalybridge,

Cheshire, SK15 1EB

Call Us Now 0161 303 1069

Duke of Edinburgh Scheme

What is the Duke of Edinburgh Award?
The Award is a challenging programme of activities which will help you to learn new skills, help others and experience adventure and it will give you a great sense of achievement. What's more, many organisations such as employers and universities take a good view of the Award and what it says about the person who has achieved it.

What does it involve?
There are three levels - Bronze, Silver and Gold - and, for each, you complete activities in four sections - Service, Skills, Physical Recreation and Expeditions. At the Gold level you also take part in a Residential Project.

It's up to you what you do. In each section there is a wide range of options you can choose from or you can find other similar activities you already enjoy. The good news is it's not an exam and you can't fail! The Award is about having a go. It's not a competition - you just need a bit of enterprise and perseverance.

Who is it for?
The Award is open to anyone between the age of 14 and 25 years. Special qualifications are not needed, just a willingness to have a go.

Where can I do it?

What will I get out of it?
 Self-belief
    Self-confidence
    A sense of identity
    Independence - of thought and action
    A sense of responsibility
    An awareness of your potential
    New talents and abilities
    An understanding of your strengths and weaknesses
    The ability to plan and use time effectively
    The ability to learn from and give to others in the community
    New relationships
    Skills including problem solving, presentation and communication
    The ability to lead and work as part of a team

How long will it take?
It takes at least 6 months at Bronze level, at least 12 months at Silver level and at least 18 months at Gold level.

[Referenced from]

OCR Train to Gain AQA CAA City and Guilds CSCS ESF MatrixQM